Photo Phriday: March for Healthy Babies…

March 20, 2009 at 9:09 am | Posted in Baby Weight (Evan), I's for reals, Photo Phriday, Putting on Baby Weight (Pregnancy) | Leave a comment

Bitty EvanThis is our bitty Evan.  2 Days old.  Volunteers made the baby hats we received at the hospital, so they were hand knitted instead of the cotton generic kind.  Evan got two… and they were way too big. 

Bigger Evan

This is Evan in the same hat.  He is about 2 and a half months old here.  I had to shmush it on his head to get it to stay on.  I was really testing the knitting limits.

They didn’t have preemie hats at the hospital and I pray that one day they won’t need them.

The cards that were dealt to Evan were great.  He was 4 weeks early and only needed an IV and heart monitoring for a day or so.  Some are not so lucky.  We need to find a way to keep these babies cookin’!  40 weeks and they are nice and plump and all their insides work like a charm.  There should never be any of this or this.  Parents shouldn’t have to lose their house to keep their baby alive.  A mommy shouldn’t have to wait 5 months before she can hold her little boy.  A daddy shouldn’t be scared to touch his daughter’s hand because it may overstimulate her and cause alarms to sound.  Or worse.  NO ONE should have to deliver a silent baby.  There should never be talk of funerals before labor.  A mother shouldn’t die because she gave life to her child.  I wish my husband and I didn’t have to have “I could die” as a reason why NOT to have a baby. 

I know this is heavier than anything I’ve posted here.  It weighs on my heart.  I never say “I was blessed”, because I believe that all those other parents were just as blessed as I was… they just had to have sorrow too… they had to have their hearts broken… but they are no less in love with that child.

Evan was born early because I developed HELLP Syndrome.  Sometimes there is no rhyme or reason why mothers go into early labor.  Sometimes there is no reason why a baby died in the womb.  We need to know these reasons and learn how to prevent them.

Feel as helpless as I do?  We are little people in this big world.  We can all do little things that make big impacts.  Here are some little things:

  • Walk with me and my family in Grand Blanc on April 26th.
  • Live far away in this big world?  There are March of Dimes walks across the nation on that very same weekend.
  • Sponsor me and donate.  Click the box at the bottom of the screen.
  • Share my story with your friends and family.
  • Share your story with me.
  • Learn about HELLP Syndrome so you can spot it in yourself or your friends and family.  It can show up as pain right above the pregnant belly or shoulder pain.  Mine felt like severe heartburn and a backache.  Nausea and vomiting.  Headaches.  A general feeling of unwell.  I was obsessed with knowing all about my pregnancy and I didn’t catch these symptoms for a week!

Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

