Photo Phriday: During the best moment of my life, I was on drugs.

March 6, 2009 at 8:03 am | Posted in Baby Weight (Evan), Me myself I and me again, Photo Phriday, Putting on Baby Weight (Pregnancy), Rewind, The Others | 2 Comments

Ummm drugs, and baby!The photo this phriday is itty bitty.  There are only 3 things to blame: my liver and kidneys, (Kidneis?  Kidni?).  The mommy shown here, (a flippin’ photographer! edited because offending people is un-effing-cool), did not have her camera.  Daddy shown here went home to take a shower while I was waiting on test results, but didn’t think the baby would come so he didn’t bring a camera.  So, Dear Internet, our first family photo was taken with a camera phone.

After my c-section, they wheeled me straight into the nursery.  In this photo I am still on a stretcher and heavily medicated because, look… I’m smiling.  And look… I’m elevated.  I’m obviously on drugs. 

I remember Evan being all nekkid on the warmer, not screaming, just kinda lookin’ around.  They wrapped him up and went to place him in my arms.  I remember thinking, “OMFG!  Don’t give me that child!  I don’t know how to hold a newborn!  I’m gonna break it!  What are they thinking?  Wait!  The neck!  Crap, am I going to shmush him?  OMG, OMG, he’s gonna cry… don’t give him to me if he’s going to cry!   He hates me!  He doesn’t recognise me!  He’s pissed ’cause I popped him out too early!  Shit, shit, shit!”  Then they plopped him down in my arms and I didn’t break him or anything.  And he didn’t cry.  He just kinda looked at me.  While I silently apologised to him for everything I might do in his life to embarrass him/cause him psychological damage/screw him up because of my cluelessness/or fuck him up in general, I mumbled to Wayne, “Take a picture with your phone.”  Most of the nursery nurses were standing around smiling at us and a nurse offered to take a picture of all three of us.  And there you go.  I just got it out of the phone because I may know my way around a computer, but the phone thing stumps me. 

It’s pixel-y.  The color is awful.  It’s itty bitty.  But the moment… the moment was enormous.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Beautiful photo, great lighting for a camera phone. And you look lovely

  2. […] For me, pregnancy was easier.  There wasn’t a helpless child in front of me.  I wasn’t feeling well but I can feel the baby move.  The baby is good.  I didn’t want to be that woman who calls the doctor for every little thing.  I was sustaining life with MY MIND and damnit, that makes me hardcore and if that means dealing with a bit of pain then so fucking be it.  Well, we all know how that turned out.  I didn’t want to be a pest so I suffered in silence without making a phone call.  I figured I’d mention it at the next regularly scheduled OBGYN appointment, if it was still bothering me.  My pride/meekness/laissez-faireness could have killed myself and my baby.  Thank goodness concern rose above my obstinance and I called the doctor about the pain.  Evan was born 6 hours later.  […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

